Hitchcock Magic

19 09 2011

Exploring the chalk cliffs in Hitchcock Woods

Monkey trees…the Crow’s Nest…the sawdust pile…digging kaolin out of the side of an embankment to use as sidewalk chalk…sucking up all my courage to walk across the cement dam…playing Pooh Sticks on Barton’s Pond Bridge…This was my life, my backyard growing up on the edge of Hitchcock Woods.  The woods was a magic place, a place of imagining, of learning, of growing.  Many children today don’t have these rich experiences.  Parents, believing in the danger that lies outside each and every house, don’t allow their children to explore the woods, don’t show them this magical place.   The woods are still there, still waiting…

Below is an essay my daughter, a senior in high school, wrote about Hitchcock Woods.  I’m proud to say that this essay was chosen as this year’s winner of the Celestine Eustis Prize, given by the Hitchcock Foundation for the most compelling essay about experiencing Hitchcock Woods.  I’m even more proud that she has experienced for herself that old Hitchcock Magic.

Life in the Woods

By Annalise

On Behalf of My Cross Country Team

Tree branches blind me.  Roots trip me up.  The sand muffles my footsteps.  I’m sweating.  I’m dirty.  I’m exhausted.  I’m so utterly lost, but I know where I am.  I’m in Hitchcock Woods.  Isn’t that enough?  And even though it’s getting dark, and this trail is foreign to me, I don’t need to panic- the woods is my second home.

Ever since I can remember the woods have been a part of my life.  Although it might sound absurd, Hitchcock Woods has raised me.  Since my grandparent’s house is on Clark Road, many visits would end in a woods adventure.  We were explorers.  Hitchcock Woods was uncharted territory.  We’d splash through the “raging rivers.”  We’d discover new lands.  It was our personal playground.  You could do anything in the woods.  You could be whoever you wanted to be.  Hitchcock Woods is for the dreamers, and I was a dreamer.

Years later I took up horseback riding lessons at Fulmer Stables.  I wasn’t great at riding horses.  I didn’t do any shows or camps.  My form was nowhere close to perfect. I was completely and utterly mediocre.  But I loved to ride.  I loved the way the horse felt underneath me, its strong body gliding over the sand, kicking it up as I held on for dear life.  The days I loved the most were the “woods days.”  Riding in the woods was a treat.  We would walk, trot, canter, and gallop.  We flew down hills and over jumps. The woods sheltered us.  It was quiet, save for the sound of hooves pounding the earth.

After I decided to stop horseback riding lessons, I took up a new sport.  I started running for my school’s Cross Country team.  It turned out to be  a great decision since every day we would practice in the woods.  After spending so much time running in the woods, I now know almost everything about it.  I know where that twisty trail ends, what parts of Sand River I should avoid stepping in after it rains, and in which field I can stop running and not be caught by my coaches.  But I still can’t find the mythical Gravel Pit!

This is where we would go on hour long runs.  We would do hill repeats on Cole’s Hill.  Even our home meet course wove through the woods.  Suddenly practices became a whole lot more tolerable.  How could you hate running in pure serenity?

I have a problem of getting distracted in the woods while I’m running.  I want to stop and soak up everything.  I used to think the woods was quiet until I actually stopped and listened.  The woods is alive with sounds.  The trees sing with chirps and twitters, and the ground moves with hungry squirrels foraging for food.  One day I just stopped running and sat down on a decaying log.  Sometimes I get so busy in life that I forget to just listen.  I’m so caught up in school, in my sports, and in my social life that doing absolutely nothing for ten minutes is unthinkable.  So for that day I just sat and reflected on life.  Surrounded by nature, I found peace.  It was a beautiful moment for me.

Hitchcock Woods has become part of who I am.  Wherever I go in life, I know I’ll take with me my own personal slice of the woods.  I’ll remember the deep sand, the wind in the trees, and the sweat on my brow.  The woods might be for the citizens of Aiken.  It might be for adventurous tourists.  It might be for my school’s Cross Country team.  But the woods will always be my home.

Actions

Information

6 responses

19 09 2011
Fred Wright

VERY well written! My home, too!…

19 09 2011
dexterpottery

What a wonderful and well written piece! I had much the same experiences growing up in those magical woods long ago.

19 09 2011
Laura Lance

Annalise, you have real gifts as a writer and — as a fellow child of Hitchcock Woods — you have also perfectly captured the magic as I’ve lived it for 48 years and counting. Beth, thanks so much for sharing this!

19 09 2011
eberteach

Thank you all for your kind words. Annalise is looking at majoring in Communications in college. Of course, I could have told you that writing would be in her career path when she was a kindergartener, writing stories on a notepad that only she could read! I will pass on your comments to her; they will provide confirmation that she’s on the right track. There is also a link to her blog (Big Letters) on my home page that you may want to check out.

19 09 2011
kbfenner

Hitchcock Woods is heaven–you both were so lucky to go there so often as children. Thanks for sharing!

8 10 2011
Brian

I love hitchcock woods! I hope i get to go there as much as you. say congrats
to Annalise ok.

Leave a Reply

