Ready, Set, Teach

15 08 2012

I have a couple hundred other things I need to be doing right now instead of writing this blog.  Today was the teachers’ first day back to school, well, first OFFICIAL day back, anyway.  Some of us have been working at school for a good part of the summer.  But today was the first day we HAD to be there, and it was taken up with meeting after meeting of what needs to be done and how to do it.  Only thing missing was the time to do all these things, and registration is tomorrow so I’ve got to have all my ducks in a row.  Then I got home after running to Food Lion for chocolate bars to put in treat bags for the students’ first day ( “We need S’more good readers…”) and forgetting to  stop by the bank to cash a check, to find a message that I had a church meeting this evening.  There went two more hours of my time.  I started getting dinner ready and found out that I didn’t have the main ingredient to the new recipe I was making: chickpea and fennel pasta salad.  I chose this recipe initially because I had some fennel growing in my garden for the first time and I didn’t know what to do with it.  So today I stepped outside to get it and, come to find out, my luxurious-looking plant had a root the size of my pinkie.  Certainly not big enough for the salad.  So off I went to Kroger to get some fennel, putting dinner about half an hour late.  Did I mention that I had a lot going on today?

But my trip to Kroger had an unexpected outcome.  Walking through the store, a beautiful young lady approached me with a questioning look on her face.  Did I recognize her?  Of course I did.  It was Isabel, a student who was in my class some six years ago!  And right behind her was Stella, another student from the same class.  So I stood in the bakery section, right beside the sliced Italian bread, listening as they reminisced about their time in my class.  And Stella broke out in a recitation of Jabberwocky, a poem that I had taught the class so many years ago.  And I was reminded of the effect that teachers have on their students.

But that’s not all.  Last week, as I was sitting at this computer making plans for the school year, the doorbell rang.  I assumed it was the neighbors next door, but no, when I opened the door, there stood Brian, a boy from my last year’s class (and one who reads this blog religiously).  Brian lives two blocks down, and had walked over to give me a back-to-school gift:  two apple-shaped Post-it note pads that he had picked up for me while he was shopping.    And I was reminded of the effect that teachers have on their students.

But that’s not all.  The very next day, I was working in my classroom when in walked Maggie.  Maggie was in my class two years ago and has regularly corresponded with me by mail and through notes delivered by her mother, our cafeteria manager.  Maggie had come to help me in the room and while cutting out laminated cards, she filled me in on everything happening in her life as a rising seventh grader.  And I was reminded of the effect that teachers have on their students.

And so, on the cusp of a new school year, I got the message loud and clear.  I am right where I need to be at this moment, doing just what I am doing.  As I have left my mark on these students, so too did they leave their mark on me.  And for that I will be eternally grateful.  Some may attribute the chance meeting of four former students within a week’s time as happenstance.  I know otherwise.

Yes, I have lots I need to be doing right now.  I haven’t finished my lesson plans.  I need to write down all I need to tell parents tomorrow.  I need to consolidate all my “to-do” notes to even begin to figure out what needs doing.  However, nothing is more important than thanking God for the privilege of serving Him through teaching our children.  I hear you, God.  Thank you!

Actions

Information

2 responses

15 08 2012
Brian

Thanks Mrs.Eberhard!!!

17 08 2012
eberteach

Brian, students like you are my inspiration! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

