Iceland Saga 2013: Here’s to Ewe!

17 07 2013

Although technically the gyrfalcon is the national animal of Iceland, by all rights it should be the Icelandic sheep.  There are more sheep in Iceland than people.  Sheep have a deep cultural and historical background:  the Vikings brought sheep with them from Norway during the Age of Settlement from 874 to 930 AD.  Lamb meat from Iceland is known the world over for its delicate flavor.  Knitting is a national preoccupation due to the demand for wool products.  And they are cute.

I had a hard time not stopping to take a picture every time I saw a sheep.  Of course if I did, I would still be there, snapping photo after photo.  As it was, I managed to get a fair number of shots before my husband became too irritated at me.

sheep on the rocks

sheep on the rocks

in the grass

sheep in the grass

posers

posers

ghost sheep

ghost sheep

shedding

sheep shedding

Three billy goats gruff?

Three billy sheep gruff

sheep in road

sheep in road

sheep running

sheep running

windblown

windblown sheep

time for a new coat

sheep needs  a new coat

I've got my eye on ewe!

I’ve got my eye on ewe!

double trouble

double trouble

two cute

two cute

the end

the end

“I’m glad my husband is a patient man,” I said sheepishly.

Actions

Information

4 responses

17 07 2013
Marie Bainbridge

I’m loving your Iceland saga!

Sent from my iPad

17 07 2013
eberteach

Thanks, Marie! I can’t wait to show you ALL my thousands of pics!

17 07 2013
Kathryn Fenner

Baaaaa

17 07 2013
eberteach

Yeah, I know. Brian went around Iceland quoting his favorite line from Babe: “Baaa, ram, ewe…”

Leave a Reply

