An Unlikely Comparison

19 07 2013

I was sitting outside this morning, eating my breakfast on the back porch beside by garden, and couldn’t help comparing my poor efforts at gardening with those at the Akureyri Botanical Garden in Iceland.  Okay, so I’m a sucker for punishment.

Regardless, here’s a little photo quiz to keep you on your horticultural toes, so to speak: Akureyri or Aiken?

?

?

OR

?

?

Did you guess correctly?  The first one is in my garden in Aiken: a bee balm, attracting lots of bees as well as butterflies and hummingbirds.  I’m not sure what the second flower is, but it must have been the inspiration for flowers in Dr. Suess’s  Horton Hears a Who.

Try this one:

?

?

OR

?

?

Again, the top one is from my garden in Aiken: a common zinnia.  These reseed every year, making it the perfect flower for a lazy gardener such as myself.  And again, I’m not sure what the one from the Akureyri Botanical Garden is. Names escape me.  Beauty doesn’t.

On to number three:

?

?

OR

?

?

The top one is from Akureyri.  The bottom is of an Easter lily in my garden who decided to wait until well into June to bloom.

Next:

?

?

OR

?

?

Did I get you?  These are both from Akureyri.

No more tricks (just treats):

?

?

OR

?

?

The bottom picture is in Aiken, where a voracious anise swallowtail caterpillar was chowing down on my fennel.

How about this?

?

?

OR

?

?

The top picture is from Akureyri, but could have been from Aiken.  It is a type of mint, which apparently will grow just about anywhere.  The bottom picture is a canna I just transplanted in my garden this past spring.  You wouldn’t find this one growing outside in Iceland; he is happiest in a more tropical locale.

Here’s my last unlikely comparison:

?

?

OR

?

?

Sorry.  I did it again.  Both these pictures are from my garden in Aiken.  The top is a hibiscus that has grown about 15 feet tall.  The bottom is a double day lily.   Both plants grow back every spring and provide bright and easy color for my lazy garden.

It may be a while before I can get back to Iceland.  In the meantime I’ll just have to enjoy the scenery from my back porch.

Actions

Information

4 responses

19 07 2013
Kathryn Fenner

3A is columbine? 4b cosmos,

19 07 2013
eberteach

I think you’re right about the columbine, but the 4b leaves don’t look anything like the cosmos I have in my
garden.

19 07 2013
Sharon Foret Cagle

You need to send this to Sharon Filler! 🙂

Sent from my iPad

19 07 2013
eberteach

She would probably get them all right, and know the scientific names for them all!

Leave a Reply

