The Magic of Marie, on the Occasion of Her 60th Birthday, June 10, 2004

23 07 2015

2013-11-29 11.59.00

Looking back through my files, I came across the following letter that I wrote for my sister Marie’s 60th birthday.

I have been asked to write down my recollections of Marie as my present to her on this, her 60th birthday. And since paper is infinitely easier to store than the massive, bulky, very expensive present I was going to give her, I will humbly comply with her request.

YOU’RE GETTING OLDER WHEN…

– You wake up, looking like your driver’s license picture.
– It takes two tries to get up from the couch.
– Your idea of a night out is sitting on the patio.
– Happy hour is a nap.

First, let me make it clear that Marie is MUCH older than me. For the past month, every time I mention that we were going to go to Tennessee for my sister’s 60th birthday party, everyone’s eyes got a little wider and the response was, “Your SISTER is turning 60?!!!” Marie is fifteen years and three months older than I am. It must have been a bit embarrassing for her to be a teenager and have her mother be pregnant with me and then two years later with Lucy. I can imagine the snickers of her friends as they winked knowingly at Marie.
But if she was ever embarrassed by having a sister so much younger than her, I was unaware of it. My earliest memory of Marie was one night when she was babysitting Lucy and me (live-in babysitter: one advantage to spacing out your children!). She was trying to get me to bed and I was resisting in my usual charming way by latching onto her leg and forcing her to drag me into the bedroom. In an attempt to bribe me into good behavior, she told me that if I went to bed peacefully, she would let me feel her whiskers. Looking up at her from my leach-like position on her leg, I said disdainfully, “But Marie, I can already feel your whiskers. They’re all over your leg!”

YOU’RE GETTING OLDER WHEN..
– It takes longer to rest than it did to get tired.
– Your memory is shorter and your complaining is longer.
– The pharmacist has become your new best friend.
– You get two invitations to go out on the same night, and you pick the one that gets you home the earliest.

I didn’t see much of Marie as a young child. I have spotty memories of visiting her at Columbia College. I vaguely remember hearing my parents talk about the fire in her dorm. I remember listening to Marie sing a solo in church; listening, not seeing, because Lucy and I were with Daddy in the chapel since we couldn’t sit still yet. I remember getting a puppy we named Seiko when some of Marie’s college friends found it and needed a home for it. I remember attending Marie’s graduation and being proud of my big sister crossing the stage wearing that funny hat. And I remember visits in the back yard with a cute “friend” of Marie’s: shy at first, then gradually warming up to him until I finally was hanging all over him in true pesky little sister fashion.

I was proud to be a flower girl in Marie’s wedding. My job was to sprinkle rose petals in the aisle before Marie. Nervous but excited, I fulfilled my task, only to see Lucy get halfway down the aisle, run out of petals, and run back down the aisle for more. “She’s only four,” I reminded my big six-year-old self. For being flower girls, Marie gave each us of a heart-shaped locket necklace, which I still have and wear frequently to remind me of my older sister with the bristly legs.

YOU’RE GETTING OLDER WHEN..
– Let’s face it, traveling just isn’t as much fun when all the historical sites are younger than you are.
– Every time you suck in your gut, your ankles swell.
– Age always corresponds inversely to the size of your multi-vitamin.
– Your investment in health insurance is finally beginning to pay off.
– It’s harder and harder for sexual harassment charges to stick.

Fast forward three years or so, and thanks to Marie, at age nine I became an aunt. I enjoyed playing with Becky and watching her grow. At one point, I remember Marie had both Lucy and I over to play with Becky on a Saturday morning (cartoons were on), and for lunch she served us toasted cheese sandwiches made with Cheddar cheese instead of the cheese food slices that Mama always used. I, of course, refused to eat it.
Several years later, Chris was born and again I was a proud aunt. By this time, Marie and Rick had moved away, making the rounds of the Air Force bases, so our contact was limited to short visits on vacations.

YOU’RE GETTING OLDER WHEN..
– Your secrets are safe with your friends because they can’t remember them either.
– Your supply of brain cells is finally down to a manageable size.
– Things you buy now won’t wear out.
– No one expects you to run into a burning building.

It wasn’t until I was married and had kids of my own that I truly began to appreciate the “magic of Marie.” Marie’s visits have become a much-anticipated event in our household. Christa and Annalise have grown up with a loving “Aint ‘Re” who always gives neat gifts and gadgets even when it’s not Christmas or birthdays. Aint ‘Re always takes time to listen to them and watch them show off their latest tricks. And Aint ‘Re is always fun to be around, even learning to play the nose whistle and enduring jibes about her snoring.

As for myself, I look forward to visiting with her for the midnight chats, her acceptance of all my little faults, and her good-natured attitude toward life. Even though she is a Democrat, she has forged a solid relationship with Brian to the point that, although he would never admit it, he looks forward to her visits also. However, one of the best parts of having Marie as a sister is that, being 15 years and 3 months older than me, she is forging a path through life for me and proving to us all that life doesn’t end at sixty, although the legs are still bristly.

YOU’RE GETTING OLDER WHEN..
– In a hostage situation you are likely to be released first.
– You’re sitting on a park bench, and a Boy Scout comes up and helps you cross your legs.
– You run out of breath walking DOWN a flight of stairs.
– You look both ways before crossing a room.
– You come to the conclusion that your worst enemy is gravity.
– You realize that a stamp today costs more than a picture show did when you were growing up.
– Your children are beginning to look middle-aged.
– You light the candles on your birthday cake, and a group of campers form a circle and start singing “Kumbaya.”

Happy 60th Birthday, Marie!
I love you!

My lovely, loving sister Marie died on July 16, 2015 after a short illness. I miss her terribly but will continue on the path that she forged for us.

Actions

Information

5 responses

23 07 2015
Lori S.

I am sorry to have heard of your sister’s passing. I know she has taught you well because you are wonderful! Sending prayers your way….

23 07 2015
Alison Fabrick

Thank you for sharing this, Aunt Beth. It’s funny and beautiful, just like you.

23 07 2015
eberteach

Thanks, Alison! Then you must take after me, ’cause you are, too!

23 07 2015
Nancy Fabrick

This is so beautiful. Thank you so much for sharing it with us. Marie was a wonderful, sweet, giving person. She will be in my heart forever.

26 07 2015
eberteach

Thanks. Marie left a mark on many hearts! I am so glad you guys were able to come!

Leave a Reply

